Tue, 07/27/2021 - 22:50

Harris County Democratic Party Makes Donation to Support Democratic State House Delegation Combating Voter Suppression

Delegates Participated in HCDP’s “Save Our Democracy” Rally Monday Night

Houston — Harris County members of the Democratic State House delegation joined HCDP Monday night for a Save Our Democracy Rally to discuss efforts to fight voter suppression and expand voting rights in Texas and the nation. More than 125 attendees participated in the virtual event.

HCDP Chair Odus Evbagharu, who moderated the discussion, announced that the Harris County Democrats were donating $5,000 to the Freedom to Vote Fund to support the delegation’s efforts.

Delegation members joined from Washington, D.C., where they traveled after breaking quorum to stop a vote on Texas House Bill 3, which was designed to tighten Texas’ voting laws and includes bans on drive-thru and 24-hour voting.

“What you all are doing, the sacrifices you are making, it is vital to saving our democracy,” Evbagharu told delegation members, who included Texas Reps. Alma Allen, Armando Walle, Garnet Coleman, Ana Hernandez, Ann Johnson, Jarvis Johnson, Christina Morales, Mary Ann Perez, Jon Rosenthal, Penny Morales Shaw, Shawn Thierry, Senfronia Thompson, Hubert Vo and Gene Wu.

“John Lewis told us to make noise — make good trouble, necessary trouble — and our Harris County delegation has taken those words: They’re not just talking it; they’re living it and walking it.”

Evbagharu told attendees, “Please be encouraged. Visit harrisdemocrats.org. Sign up to block walk. Sign up to phone call. Sign up to text. Sign up to donate. Anything you can do to get in this fight on the road to 2022.”


For Immediate Release
July 27, 2021
Elisa Rochford
(832) 316-1865