Tue, 03/23/2021 - 09:33


For Immediate Release
March 23, 2021
Angelica Luna-Kaufman
(713) 429-2104

Nancy Pelosi to Speak at Free Harris Democrats’ Virtual Event

DNC Chair Jaime Harrison, Judge Lina Hidalgo to Join Johnson Rayburn Richards Fundraiser

HOUSTON, TX – House Speaker Nancy Pelosi will be the headliner for the annual Harris County Democratic Party’s Johnson Rayburn Richards Fundraiser. A conversation between Pelosi and Judge Lina Hidalgo will take place on March 25 at 5 p.m. The virtual event will also feature DNC Chair Jaime Harrison.

“It’s going to be an amazing program,” said Lillie Schechter, HCDP Chair. “We are thrilled that Speaker Pelosi agreed to join us and are equally excited that DNC Chair Harrision and Judge Hidalgo will also be participating. Speaker Pelosi has consistently recognized the importance of Harris County in national politics.”

The theme for the night — “Our Time is Now” — was selected, said Schechter, “to reflect the opportunities we have to right the wrongs of the last administration and to introduce legislation that will improve the lives of all Americans.”

“As Harris County Democrats, it is more important than ever to unite with our national Democrats in the continued fight for social justice,” Schechter said.

“We are grateful to the Host Committee — made up of elected officials, party activists and community leaders — whose generous contributions are the reason we are able to bring this one-of-a-kind event to the public for free.”


Our Time is Now Fundraiser

Register for Event

Media: Members of the press should RSVP for the event by emailing Angelica Luna Kaufman at angelica@harrisdemocrats.com

Host Committee Event Sponsors:

Good Trouble Makers: Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia, David Lee & The Texas Signal, Amber Mostyn, Gilbert & Deedee Garcia Glass Ceiling Breakers: State Senator Borris Miles, State Senator John Whitmire, Judge Tanya Garrison, Judge Donna Roth, Judge Beau Miller, Judge Rabeea Collier, Judge Kyle & Eric Carter Party Activators: State Representative Jon Rosenthal, State Representative Gene Wu, Judge Robert Schaffer, Judge Mike Engelhart, Judge Julia Maldonado, Judge Gloria Lopez, Judge Chuck Silverman, Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP, Plumbers Union 68, Dave Mattheisen Dream Makers: Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher, Congressman Al Green, State Senator Carol Alvarado, Commissioner Rodney Ellis, Mayor Sylvester Turner, District Attorney Kim Ogg, Judge Ursula Hall, Judge Lauren Reeder, Judge Natalia Cokinos Oakes, Judge Cory Sepolio, Judge Lesley Briones, Judge Elaine Palmer, Judge Cheryl Elliott Thornton, Judge Michelle Moore, Judge Fredericka Phillips, Judge Kristen Hawkins, Judge Jason Cox, Judge Leah Shapiro, Judge Jerry Simoneaux, Judge Latosha Lewis Payne, Judge Brittanye Morris, Judge Janice Berg, Judge Tristan Longino, Harris County Attorney Christian Menefee, Harris County District Clerk Marilyn Burgess, Harris County Clerk Teneshia Hudspeth, Hon. Chris Hollins, ROADWomen, Southwest Democrats, Akilah Bacy, Odus Evbagharu, Ashleigh Rickertsen, Paul Morgan, Margary Loeb, William Jonson, Carly Milner, Laura Spanjian, Michael Skelly, Sam Houston Movers and Shakers: Ambassador Arthur Schechter, Commissioner Adrian Garcia, Justice Charles Spain, Justice Veronica-Rivas-Molloy, Justice Jerry Zimmerer, Judge Scot Dollinger, Judge Chip Wells, Judge Jim Kovach, Judge Dawn Rogers, Harris County Treasurer Dylan Osborne, Council Member Robert Gallegos, HCDP Treasurer Lenora Sorola-Pohlman, Senate District 13, Senate District 15, Precinct Chair of 0398 Dee Coleman, Meyerland Area Democrats, Spring Democratic Club, Cypress-Tomball Democrats, Greater Heights Democratic Club, The Democratic Club of the Woodlands, Texas Democratic Women Harris County, Bayou Blue Democrats & Harris County Young Democrats, Kingwood Area Democrats, Tejano Democrats, Bay Area Democratic Movement, Katy Area Democrats, Edward R. Allen III, Jeff Watters, Rita Bergers, Camille Foster, Alexander Obregon, Henry Florsheim, Leslie Karpas, Jeff Steidley, Katherine Franco, Willie Roaches Franklyn, Gerry Birnberg, Lori Hathaway, Tamra Dore, Celina Vasquez (as of 03/22/2021 at 4:12pm)